Lieutenant-Colonel Geoffrey Pine-Coffin


Geoffrey Pine-Coffin with Field Marshal Montgomery and senior officers of the 6th Airborne Division in the Ardennes, January 1945. Left to right, back row: Lieutenant-Colonels Napier Crookenden (9th Battalion), Paul Gleadell (12th Devons), Gerald Ford, Michael Roberts (GSO-1 (Ops), Divisional HQ), and Major Archie Bookles (Adjutant, 8th Battalion). Middle row: Lieutenant-Colonels Kenneth Darling (12th Battalion), Geoffrey Pine-Coffin (7th Battalion), Jeff Nicklin (1st Canadian Battalion), and Peter Luard (13th Battalion). Front rows: Brigadier Edward Flavell (6th Airlanding Brigade), Major-General Eric Bols (Commander, 6th Airborne Division), Brigadier James Hill (3rd Parachute Brigade), Field Marshal Montgomery, and Brigadier Nigel Poett (5th Parachute Brigade). Copyright: Imperial War Museum.