Officers of the 3rd Parachute Battalion, Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire, July 1945. Click here for a full-size (295kb) photograph. Copyright: Airborne Assault Museum, Duxford.


Back row (left to right): Lieutenants G. R. Rowe MM, D. M. Price, H. C. Sparkes, R. T. Cottam, G. W. A. Bennett and J. F. Mitchell.


Third row: Lieutenants W. H. Douglas, R. A. Vlasto, J. Smith, G. N. Hayes, N. A. Robinson, J. M. Rampton and D. J. Taylor.


Second row: Lieutenants F. L. Crossland, E. W. Mortimer, K. S. Allerton and N. W. Riley, Captains D. J. Bentham, C. S. Fitzpatrick and J. E. Blackwood MC, Lieutenants A. A. Vickers, W. A. P. Grose and J. E. Irwin.


Front row: Lieutenant (QM) S. W. Burnard, Captain J. D. Lunan, Majors G. L. W. Street MC and R. D. C. McCall MC, Lieutenant-Colonel R. T. H. Lonsdale DSO MC, Captain J. Awdry (Adjutant), Major P. N. Keymer MC, Captains L. Stern (PMC) and J. W. Warwick-Pengelly.